A More Inclusive Mindfulness

Standard

 

IMG_little red buddha (Image is of a small red Buddha figure sat in front of books on a dark wood shelf)

As part of the usual New Year re-focusing, I have been working on making mindfulness and meditation a more regular part of my daily life. I have had an interest in meditation for a long time, however as I have Cerebral Palsy and use a wheelchair I have found it difficult to find a style of practice that suits me. Many of the resources I found often had a strong and sometimes prescriptive focus on certain postures and sitting positions, which made me feel like I wouldn’t be able to  get the same out of meditation as someone who could easily get into a lotus position.

However with the advent of smartphones and now the development of mindfulness apps that  have guided meditations,  meditation  has become a lot more accessible and I have found it really helpful in dealing with everyday anxieties and stresses, particularly when it comes to not getting carried away by anxious trains of thought. This has made me really enthusiastic about what it can do for people and this blog is a way of sharing that enthusiasm, as well as sharing any resources I come across along the way.

The more I read on the subject the more I see that there is still a focus on doing things in ways  that aren’t always accessible to people who have limitations and this is the main reason I wanted to start this blog.  It may be that there are not so many people that have physical difficulties who are interested in mindfulness which is why I couldn’t find many other references to mindfulness and disability on the Internet. If this is the case then this blog will simply be a nice way to document my own experiences and  development within mindfulness. However, I hope to create something that will help other people realise that mindfulness can be adapted to whatever your needs may be.

After all, mindfulness is simply:

mindfulness
ˈmʌɪn(d)f(ʊ)lnəs/
noun
  1. the quality or state of being conscious or aware of something.
    “their mindfulness of the wider cinematic tradition”
  2. a mental state achieved by focusing one’s awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging and accepting one’s feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations, used as a therapeutic technique.

In this blog  I hope to explore my experiences of mindfulness, including my practice,  my use of apps  and my reading in a way that I hope will  make  it more accessible for people who may have  otherwise dismissed it as something that wasn’t open to them.  I hope to post something once or twice a week and I hope you will find it useful.

 

*This blog was mostly typed with speech recognition software, please forgive any mistakes or oddnesses that have slipped through my proofreading process. Thank you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

